Seeking Reader Input

Three Days at Sea is in phase one of proofreading and editing. As I contemplate what thebooks, bookshelf, author, Three Days at Sea book still needs more of (or less of), I am interested in knowing your thoughts to some of these questions:

1. What do you look for in a devotional or inspirational book?

2. Thick or thin?

3. Long book with many short chapters?

4. Long book with a few long chapters?

5. Short book, short chapters?

6. A balance of stories, Scriptures, poems, and questions to reflect on or heavier in one of these areas? If heavier in one, which one?

7. How much do you typically spend on a devotional or inspirational book?

8. Do you prefer to read a devotional as a traditional book or on an e-reader?

9. Do you look only for books by well-known authors or do you search for books recommended by those you know?

I hope to have this book ready for publication later this year. I look forward to hearing from you!

If you are interested in reading a book I published earlier this year, check out what others are saying about Nine Year Pregnancy–

http://www.amazon.com/Nine-Year-Pregnancy-Waiting-Adoption/product-reviews/146271305X/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1 

— or read more about it at 9yrpregnancy.com.

Thanks,

Delana

3 thoughts on “Seeking Reader Input

  1. Hullo, Delana!

    First off, I want to wish you luck in the publishing of your book! It’s always nice to finish one; it’s the revisions that make us cry. Now for my opinion on your questions.

    1. What do you look for in a devotional or inspirational book?
    – Well, it has to inspire me, of course! The characters need to be real, and the outcome needs to be real enough for me to be motivated by it. The right amount of feeling has to be in the words, as well, so word choice is a definite. I don’t often read “inspirational” or “devotional” books, so my answer may fall a bit flat for you. Sorry about this.

    2. Thick or thin?
    – Honestly, I’ll more often than not go for a thin book, but a thick book catches people’s attention. Depending on what it’s about makes me decide whether to buy it or not.

    3. Long book with many short chapters?
    – It doesn’t matter to me. Chapter sizes vary depending on what’s happening in the scene. I don’t think they should remain a constant size (and I know some books that don’t have chapters, but rather resort to using “part one, part two, part three” with sections separating different scenes).

    4. Long book with a few long chapters?
    – Again with the short chapters, it will vary. I don’t think it’s long chapters that so much as put people off, but long paragraphs taking up space in a long chapter. With actual books, if I needed to find a place to stop, it would get rough trying to get to an end of a long chapter. However a lot of people these days (like myself) are using eReaders, which makes it easier to hold you place wherever you are in a book.

    5. Short book, short chapters?
    – Admittedly I believe a short book should have short chapters. To me it would seem a put off to have a short book with like 5 chapters in it, you know?

    6. A balance of stories, Scriptures, poems, and questions to reflect on or heavier in one of these areas? If heavier in one, which one?
    – I think there should be a balance between them. If I were to choose one to stick heavier to, it would probably be the questions to reflect on.

    7. How much do you typically spend on a devotional or inspirational book?
    – Don’t really read these kinds of books, so I can’t say. Most novels I pay for are around 7.99. 🙂

    8. Do you prefer to read a devotional as a traditional book or on an e-reader?
    – I prefer reading on my eReader, but I’ll also read a traditional book from time to time. Sometimes traditional books aren’t listed on the eReader.

    9. Do you look only for books by well-known authors or do you search for books recommended by those you know?
    – I do look for books by the well-known authors I already know I love reading, but if someone suggests a book to me, I’ll probably go for it. Also if the cover and the blurb on the back catches my attention, I’ll go ahead and buy it for a read.

    Hope this helps you out! 🙂

    • Wow! Thanks for your wonderful, well-thought out reply! I kind of thought I might get each person to respond to 1-2 of the questions, but you graciously replied to all of them. Thank you!

      Blessings and Happy Reading,
      Delana

      • Haha, yeah, I like to be thorough when it comes to answering someone’s questions. It seems kind of a let down if someone only answers one or two of your questions out of a lot more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

