Hurricane Season

After listening for a long time to the howling winds and rain beating against the house, the evening finally grew quiet. I had always heard about

hurricane, hurricane damage, storm, storm damage, downed trees, downed power lines, hurricane season, three days at sea, tree limbs

During Hurricane Ike in Texas 2008.

the eye of the hurricane, but had never seen it firsthand. The only ones awake at the time, my sister-in-law, brother-in-law, and I walked out the front door and experienced a surreal moment.

The rain had died down and only street lights illuminated the yard. Tree limbs, trash, and other debris littered the road. Only minutes earlier the noise of the hurricane was deafening. Now complete quiet, eerily pervaded. We only had a short while before the back half of the hurricane would take its turn lashing, smashing, and crashing.

Those moments provided enough peace for me to finally get to sleep after staying up half the night. I would need the rest I received in order to face the days ahead dealing with the aftermath.

Sometimes we go through seasons of long or subsequent storms in our life-journeys.

In those times we should find places to rest and people to trust. I find it helpful to remember God’s faithfulness during previous storms to get through current or coming storms. . . .

Often, I don’t want to go through the storm, the chastening. It hurts. It tosses me and breaks me to pieces. However, I always find when the winds subside I have been drawn nearer to the Lord, and there is more fruit in my life.

“The LORD is slow to anger and great in power; the LORD will not leave the guilty unpunished. His way is in the whirlwind and the storm, and clouds are the dust of his feet.” Nahum 1:3

“He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed.” Psalm 107:29

An excerpt from Three Days at Sea.

 

top blogs, mommy blogs, three days at sea

Clicking this image is an automatic vote for my blog! You can do so once every 24 hours. Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Hurricane Season

  1. Pingback: Remembering Being Rescued « Three Days at Sea

  2. Pingback: Christmas Countdown Day 4: Fragile « Three Days at Sea

Leave a Reply

